Chapter 15

‘…For this is what I have learned, in my short life: do not act out of anger. Act from love, or not at all.
I have seen it, how anger makes a space for what I must call evil. This is what I had come to understand, going with Vivian  through the turmoiled streets, into the buildings where people suffered, where they died, and where grief and anger infected those who loved them as surely as any illness did, as insidious as any virus. I used to have a simpler idea. I used to think there was good and evil, that Geoffrey Wyndham was evil because he left me, left us. I thought his family was evil, too, because they lived carefree in the grand house while others labored on their land and hardly had enough to eat and were nothing in their eyes.
This is what I used to think, that some people were simply good and others were not, and that I, of course, was good. But now I think instead that evil is a force in the world, a force that seeks, and it finds its was into our lives through anger and loss, through sadness and betrayal, like mold on bread like rot on an apple, it takes hold.’
Rose
The Lake Of Dreams
Kim Edwards.

About Samantha

https://sayyitwithflowers.wordpress.com/
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

